These Boots

October 23, 2010 at 2:14 am Leave a comment

Were made for walkin’, so I have.

A lot.

I was looking at them yesterday and decided you should know how much I love them.

They are the best boots I’ve ever owned, and unless they just fall apart, I don’t plan on replacing them anytime soon. I bought them for my birthday two years ago, and they fit me like they were designed for my feet.

If you know anything about me and my size ten, flat, skinny heeled feet, then you know that to find a shoe that loves my foot is like finding a needle in a haystack.

I got them at Boots N More, and they are made by Justin. That’s not even important. I know there are fancier brands out there. I think boots by Luchesse are beautiful. I know I could have picked some with some fancy stitchin’ on them. But these spoke to me.

I get sad every spring when I have to put them away, and then when I pull them out in October, it’s like Christmas for my feet.

I love every crease in the leather and every scratch on the sole. These boots have seen some major events this year. I wore them when my foot was broken, and no other shoe was comfortable. I wore them to my Mamaw’s visitation, with the broken foot, and was able to stand for hours and visit with so many precious friends and family. While I attribute the emotional stamina to the grace of God, I know for sure these boots helped out my pitiful foot.

I wore them all over England. It was July, but it’s not hot over there, and I walked miles and miles, knocking on doors and sharing the Gospel.

I wore them on every hayride, to every festival and field trip. I wore them last weekend all over the Alabama coast on a weekend away with my favorite guy.

Someone told me they are actually ropers, not boots. I don’t know about all that stuff, being the city girl that I am. I do know that they go with everything, and they represent to me a permanence that I’ve had trouble finding in the last eleven years. We’ve moved a lot, we’ve made a lot of decisions, friends have come and gone. I pull on these boots and they’re just…there. They are worn. They’re comfortable. They help my feet take me where I need to be. I trust that they will be the same every time I wear them. I’m not one to shy away from change, but I love knowing that while the rest of me is trying new things, my feet are safe and sound in their brown leather home.

It’s kind of like Norm and Cliff, hanging out at Cheers.

But not really.

The End.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

How Am I Weird? Let Me Count The Ways… And So We Sit

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

  • Cut my hair yesterday. Had a stress dream that I had forgotten today was my wedding and my hair was now too short. It's been a long summer. 2 weeks ago
  • Up at 5 almost every day. Practice 3 hrs/day. Eating right. This has been our summer, and it paid off. So proud of my girls and our team! 3 weeks ago
  • @CoachDavidOrr So proud of every Sunkist swimmer! We love our swim family! Thank you for a great State Meet! 3 weeks ago
  • Last night I learned that Molly swims in her sleep. She hit me in the face with a strong backstroke. She cut time- my sleep time. 3 weeks ago
  • I'm learning that social media allows us to never ask each other how we are. We assume we know. We don't. 1 month ago

