And So We Sit

October 27, 2010 at 4:15 am Leave a comment

Michael and I stay up too late. It’s a problem.

We’re tired. We both are too busy and have so much to do during our days that we need our rest.

And yet, we’re sitting here at 11 pm, wide awake.

I take that back, we’re not WIDE awake. We’d like to sleep, but we can’t. He’s grading papers for the college class he’s teaching right now and I’m awake because he is. I’m loyal like that.

I could have been a golden retriever. (The long-haired kind. They’re pretty.)

Some nights we listen to music while we (I mean he) work. He likes the group Downhere. I don’t. I think the guy sounds like Freddy Mercury, and it’s hard to catch the power of the lyrics when all I can hear in my head is “Mama, I killed a man”, or however that song goes.

I learned something about my husband’s musical taste last weekend. We spent 3 days in Fairhope/Gulfshores, Alabama and had a marvelous time. We went to a Brad Paisley concert, and shopped, and went running, and slept late. Michael pretty much spoiled the mess out of me, and treated me like a queen. It was wonderful. But then on Saturday night, I was scanning the radio stations in the car and I heard Peter Cetera singing “The Glory of Love”, and I stopped on the station to listen. Michael came unglued. He acted like he was going to throw up in the rental car. He was so offended at that choice of song.

I was shocked. This is the same guy who shopped for seven hours at an outlet mall with me. He never complained. He didn’t say a word about me falling asleep on his shoulder during a movie the night before. He had been so accommodating and easygoing.

He can’t handle Peter Cetera. Soft rock from the 1980s just does him in. I had no idea.

That’s not true. I actually knew that about him, I just had gotten so spoiled, I figured that surely I had control over the radio as well.

Not for a minute. He’s not THAT easygoing.

I can overlook that slight imperfection on the personality meter, though. Because he’s just darlin’.

And he loves me a whole bunch. I’m not braggin’, just sayin’.

He’s a man who will fight for my honor. He is the hero I’m dreaming of. We’ll live forever, knowing together that we did it all for the glory of love.

(It really is an awful song. But don’t tell him I said that.)

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

These Boots And Right About Now, I Want to Throw Up

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


