Marvelous Molly

November 20, 2010 at 5:14 am Leave a comment

Yesterday she turned six years old.

Normally, that would be hard for me to believe. However, since it’s Molly, I’m kind of in agreement with her getting older. Since the minute she came into the world, she has been the most observant, watchful, inquisitive little person. Nothing gets past her. I think she’s remarkable. But I’m her mama.

She asks questions that I don’t want to answer. She reads things that are not her business (my Christmas list, emails, blogs, etc.). She listens to every word I say on the phone or to Michael and wants to know everything that’s going on.

Luckily, we keep it clean around here.

So it’s not a big deal to me that she’s six. She’s been keeping up with her brother since she was barely walking, and I’m sure that will continue until they both grow up.

What is a big deal to me is how well she handles being her age. She’s six, but she is no more interested in growing up and doing “teenager-y” things. I have to ask her to watch Hannah Montana, she really care about it much at all. Most girls her age are over the moon with rock stars and kid celebrities. She has no idea. She really, really likes to create. She spends much of her day drawing or cutting and glueing. She loves to read and do math problems. She wants to help me cook every day. If she watches a tv show, it’s usually something she and Aidan watch together, like old episodes of Inspector Gadget, or The Munsters. She doesn’t get into dolls or Barbies, with the exception of her American Girl, Samantha. It was a gift from a precious friend of ours, and she is very attached to it.

So even though she CAN be advanced way beyond her years, she doesn’t try to be. It’s fun to be her mama, because she is just who she is. She isn’t affected by others at this point in life. She never really talks about friends, because her family is most important to her. I know there will be girl drama in the future, but it’s not in our life right now, and I’m relishing the peace.

I’m so proud of her. I’m proud of how God is becoming very real to her. I’m so proud of how she is unafraid to talk about him. I’m proud of her compassion and willingness to help others (except when it comes to cleaning her room).

She’s my special girl, and I consider her one of my greatest gifts. She is very different than I am, and I have to figure her out at times, but I wouldn’t want her to be any other way.

I love her so much. From her hair (which I adore) to her freckles (precious) to her long limbs and flat feet (sorry, kiddo, you got those from me), she’s everything I could want in a daughter. I look forward to the rest of our life together.

Happy Birthday, Wally (my name for her). You’re an angel, and God’s gonna do big stuff with you. Please let him handle everything. You’re smart, but he’s smarter, and his plan is awesome.

We love you, and we’re always here for you.
Mommy and Daddy

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

My Dude Christmas Cards Redux

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


