Opinions

January 25, 2011 at 11:18 pm Leave a comment

I straightened my hair last Wednesday. I felt like using my nice flat iron. Otherwise, it sits in my closet and collects dust.

Unfortunately, I have a dusty closet.

It takes me about an hour to get it done. I have to dry my hair then iron it piece by piece. I have a hard time finding an hour to devote to my hair, so I don’t do this often. I like my curly hair, so I’m pretty much satisfied with my wash and wear routine.

But every now and then, a girl needs to make a change.

Here’s what I look like with the kinks ironed out:

Anyway, I changed the ‘do, and went through my Wednesday with little to no comment at all from the various peanut galleries I encountered.

Then I went to church.

I am probably exaggerating, but I went home that night amazed that a change of hairdo could evoke that many opinions. Here’s a sample of what I was told throughout the evening:

“I like it better poofy!”
“I saw you come in, and had no idea who you were!”
“I wondered who that woman was sitting by your husband. But I didn’t want to ask, didn’t want to start the rumors.”
“I understand that sometimes you need to spice things up.”
“There is something different about you…not sure what it is.”

The comments lasted through the rest of the week. I went to my son’s basketball game and various church people asked me why I changed my hair and then changed it back.

The answer is simple. I bathe. I washed my hair and the curls came back. Really, it’s not earth shattering revelation.

So, what I’ve learned from this hair-flattening experience is this: Everyone has an opinion. Really, we all do. What’s funny to me is how people are so quick and even anxious to share their opinion about someone else’s appearance. That’s why we watch reality shows and beauty pageants, isn’t it?

The crux of the matter, though, is that most people have opinions about things that matter as well. We just don’t talk about those things. For some reason, we consider it less offensive to share an opinion about someone’s appearance, and more offensive to share our opinion about who we think God is. That’s odd to me. Shouldn’t it be the other way around? I mean, even if you don’t know the girl on television, you probably shouldn’t make fun of what she looks like. But if you know, and have experienced the perfect love, grace and power of God in your life, it’s really okay to share that. It’s actually commanded.

We have opinions. God gave us the capacity to form them. Why would He do that if He didn’t want us to tell others what we think about Him?

Acts 4:20 “for we are unable to stop speaking about what we have seen and heard.” Peter and John were talking about Jesus here. There is no mention in my translation about hair whatsoever.

 

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Meandering Fighting with Faith

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

  • Cut my hair yesterday. Had a stress dream that I had forgotten today was my wedding and my hair was now too short. It's been a long summer. 2 weeks ago
  • Up at 5 almost every day. Practice 3 hrs/day. Eating right. This has been our summer, and it paid off. So proud of my girls and our team! 3 weeks ago
  • @CoachDavidOrr So proud of every Sunkist swimmer! We love our swim family! Thank you for a great State Meet! 3 weeks ago
  • Last night I learned that Molly swims in her sleep. She hit me in the face with a strong backstroke. She cut time- my sleep time. 3 weeks ago
  • I'm learning that social media allows us to never ask each other how we are. We assume we know. We don't. 1 month ago

