Fighting with Faith

January 27, 2011 at 3:31 am 3 comments

The past three days have been pretty regular. I’ve picked up the house, prepared meals, driven through the carpool line, been to Bible Study, taken Aidan to piano lessons and went to church tonight. All the same old stuff I do every single week.

But this week was different for me on the inside.

I’ve been under an attack from the one who hates me the most. The first and foremost enemy of God, whose name I won’t type on my blog because he’s so disgusting to me that I don’t think he even deserves a name. I reserve every ounce of hate that I have for him. He is the master of all evil, and the biggest liar of them all.

He is aware when I’m growing in Christ. He watches me as I fall more in love with the words of God. He knows my first love is Jesus Christ, and that I place all of my identity in him.

Even as I typed those sentences, he put the thought in my head that I sound arrogant. No I don’t. I sound redeemed. When you know Jesus, you claim him, and you claim him loudly!

He knows of a situation this week that has caused me stress, and he has lied to me every which way about it. I was told I would never be able to show my face in public. I was told I was going to lose all of my friends if I made the wrong move. Those, and others, were lies, straight from the depths.

He has caused nightmares in the past few years. Twice, I woke up shaken to the core, so afraid, but aware that I was being bullied by someone who has already been beaten. I found peace and solace in that.

Tuesday, he lied to me during Bible Study. The nerve of that weasel. We started the video, Believing God, and as Beth Moore started to speak about how she believed in miracles because she was one, my mind was overtaken with this horrible thought: “You are not a miracle. You don’t know what it’s like to be lost. You’re overchurched and don’t know anything about the world. You have no credibility with anyone. You are worthless in ministry, so give it up. You don’t matter because you don’t know.”

I knew instantly I was being attacked, Praise Be to God who loves me so much, and headed straight to the bathroom where I repeated the five truths I’ve learned by heart. 1. God is who He says He is. 2. God can do what He says He can do. 3. I am who He says I am. 4. I can do all things through Christ. 5. God’s Word is alive and active in me. I believe God!

God’s presence took over, and I knew my Father won my battle for me.  Praise Him.

Why on earth am I writing about this? I know it seems pretty personal, but I feel it should be public. I feel like he should be called out. Celebrities are taking huge stands on bullying, why don’t Christians speak out against the one who creates the lies that causes the insecurity that creates the bullies? Call him on it! Call on Jesus, who has won the battle already and walk in victory!

I really wish there was something stronger than an exclamation mark, that’s how passionate I feel right now. God has been more than gracious to me to allow me to know when I’m being attacked. What about the people who are being lied to every minute, but don’t realize it? Worse, they don’t know what they can do about it? As followers of Jesus, we have to recognize it and use the power that is living in us, and put on our armor and fight back. It’s the only way to protect our minds from the lies. I’ve been lied to about my worth, my looks, my credibility, my friends, my husband’s love, my ability as a parent, and so much more. Thankfully, I have people that will pray for me in the moment. I have an artillery of scripture I can speak on the situation (and oh, how I crave for so much more to use! Please Lord, give me the time and attention to memorize!)

I can’t say I’ve ever lived in the pit, due to the grace of God and parents who brought so much Jesus in my home, it was like they nailed a cover over the pit and refused to let me in! But I know that the pit is a huge reality, and that the lies from the enemy are what will get me there in a minute, should I believe them.

I beg you. Know the Word. Recognize the lies. Talk to someone if you think you’re being attacked and are not sure if that’s what it is. If Jesus lives in you, he has already won! You are the victor! The enemy has been defeated. Oh, what a great day that will be, to see him destroyed forever.

Eph. 6: 10-17: Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. 11 Put on the full armor of God, so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. 12 For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.13 Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand. 14 Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, 15 and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. 16 In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. 17 Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.

Praise be to God, our Father! Not only do you fight for us, but then you give us a way to fight with you!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Opinions Four Against One

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jeri Ann  |  January 27, 2011 at 4:18 am

    Your so very precious. I’m one very lucky gal to know you and have the pleasure of praying for you. Remember: “I’M BELIEVING GOD”!!

    Reply
  • 2. Blake  |  January 30, 2011 at 12:47 am

    That was beautiful.

    Reply
    • 3. Karen McGee  |  January 30, 2011 at 3:10 am

      Ah Anne…Amen!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

  • RT @Dodgers: HERO. #ThisTeam https://t.co/tUQ3UsJTA3 1 day ago
  • I’ve looked forward to church today since I left the parking lot last Sunday. Grateful for @gccjxn ! 2 days ago
  • Just sitting here, basking in the realization that my kids are too old for the pumpkin patch. I’m thrilled at this development. 6 days ago
  • My whole family wishes they’d send Iris into the speed force on #TheFlash. First episode of season 4 and she’s already making us mad. 6 days ago
  • Paisley: “who’s winning the game?” Michael: “the Cubs are ahead.” P: “they’re beating Walgreens?” That “W” throws her off every time. 1 week ago

