Making an Impression

February 18, 2011 at 3:57 am Leave a comment

Tuesday was a great day. Michael has been teaching a class at a local university and the first six weeks or so are on marriage. I guess he wanted to gain some credibility with the students, so he invited me to come to class with him and dialogue about some “hot topics” and answer questions the students had about marriage issues.

This sort of thing is right up my alley. I love sharing about marriage and encouraging young people to do it God’s way. It has become a passion of mine to take every opportunity to speak Biblical truth about marriage to anyone that will listen. The message that the world conveys about marriage is awful. What God intends marriage to be is unbelievably incredible. I want God to use me to help change how young people view this awesome commitment.

So I dressed up in my new black suit. Side note: I’ve never owned a suit until now. For my birthday, my mom got me the whole jacket/pants/skirt set at the Gap, and I love it so much. I look like I’m going to a job that pays. It’s awesome. I wanted the students to find me credible, and I’ve learned from the little bit of speaking that I’ve done that if you are cleaned up, they’ll at least pay attention for five to ten minutes. So I cleaned up.

The class went really well. We were asked several questions, and I enjoyed giving answers as honestly as I could. Several students wanted to know if we fight. Absolutely we do. But we have learned to fight healthy, and we do not tear each other down in regard to character. We talked a lot about God’s plan for marriage. I was honest about things I struggled with, but how blessed I’ve been by putting everything I’ve got inside of me into making my marriage work. It was a good class, and I am thankful Michael let me be a part of it.

Today, Michael gave the exam on marriage. Before the test, he told the students that their bonus points would be added on if they would write one thing they liked about his wife. (He’s a dork. But a sweet dork.)

I received some really nice comments. Lots of students liked my hair. One guy said I had style. Just about everyone said they appreciated my honesty. One girl said that she’d be embarrassed talking about her personal life in front of people. One man said I was submissive and didn’t take over the class (I have no idea what he expected me to be like. That one made me laugh.) But my favorite, my very favorite was the guy who said, “I liked getting a new perspective, and she’s out of your league.”

He will get a Christmas card this year for making me laugh all day long.

If he (or anyone else) had any idea how insecure I was for years and years about dating “the” Michael Albritton that I’d only seen on the baseball field, they’d know I feel more like he’s out of my league. After eleven and a half years, I still feel honored that he wants to be with me. When Michael became a Christian and was growing by leaps and bounds, and I was stuck in a church rut that I’d been in for years, I felt like he was way out of my league. So that comment today made me laugh because it has always been the opposite for me. I don’t know why the guy said that.

I’m guessing it was the black suit.

Or a burning desire for bonus points.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

A Good Choice The Wind is Whipping Wildly at the Window

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


