I Don’t Think Michelangelo Intended It For Children

October 12, 2011 at 2:31 am 1 comment

We went to the library today. Molly, being the freckle-faced brain that she is, headed straight for the non-fiction and quickly chose a really cool book on art. We looked through it together while we waited on the others to choose their books.

Three-quarters of the way through, we came upon a full page picture of Michelangelo’s David.

Yep. He’s naked.

No six year old on this planet, at least not one that is normal, could see that and not giggle. So the giggles commenced, and I quickly turned the page. Naturally, her brother and sister wanted to see it, but Censor Mom kept a tight grip on the book at that point.

Please understand, I’m all about art. I think it’s educational, beautiful, and makes our world a better place.

But I know my kids. I know that for the next month, everywhere we go, there would be a discussion in public about “that naked guy in that art book”, and I just really don’t want to deal with that.

Molly added the book to her “check out” stack, and I let her check it out, but we made a deal that she wouldn’t talk about it or show it to her brother and sister. Molly is the only child I have who would actually make that deal with me and keep it. She’s a gift.

So we get in the van, and Aidan confiscates the art book. He immediately tries to find “the naked guy” and Paisley is yelling, “I wanna see! I wanna see!” Molly starts to cry, because she’s very aware that she promised Mama, and they give it back to her.

I told the kids that the picture is of a statue of David, the same David in the Bible. Aidan was just about to be impressed, but then realized that we were talking about King David. The one who killed Goliath. The one who defeated Saul. The one who wrote all those cool songs. He said, “It can’t be that David, Mom! The David in the Bible would be wearing clothes!”

In his innocent eight year old mind, all Bible people are clothed, all the time.

And he hasn’t heard the Bathsheba story yet. That one’s gonna open up a whole can of worms.

It kind of makes the whole naked statue thing seem pretty PG rated.

Entry filed under: Funny Kids, Life Stories. Tags: , , , .

Making a Difference Maybe I Should Be a Deacon

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jessica Pogue  |  October 20, 2011 at 5:32 am

    Haha! This is great!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
October 2011
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

  • Listening to a 90's Country playlist. My son is bewildered by "Prop Me Up Beside the Jukebox When I Die." Me too, dude. Me too. 2 days ago
  • RT @PaulTripp: The gospel of grace frees you from fear of the future because it tells you wherever you go whatever you do, your Savior will… 5 days ago
  • RT @PaulTripp: The gospel of grace meets you with hope in the present because it guarantees you everything you need for life and godliness. 5 days ago
  • Twice today I've opened the fridge to put groceries in that go in the pantry. I'm helping Monday live up to the hype. 2 weeks ago
  • Sitting by Aidan during the new Pirates of the Caribbean movie was more fun than the movie itself. He doesn't just watch. He experiences. 3 weeks ago

