So Much TV, So Little Time

October 28, 2011 at 3:20 am Leave a comment

I’ve been on my couch since 7:48pm. It’s now 10:02.

At 8pm, our other new favorite show comes on. “Person of Interest”, starring Jim Caviezel and Michael Emerson. We intentionally get the kids in bed by 7:30 on Thursdays, just to watch this show.

At 9pm, I watch “The Mentalist”. I love the character of Patrick Jane, but Michael isn’t a fan, so he usually leaves me during this time.

Tonight, however, the World Series is on, as well as the local high school game.

It’s all just too much. Not to mention, I have my phone right here, plus the old laptop, so between all the television, texts, Pinterest, Facebook and Twitter, I’ve been more connected than ever.

Yet I’m sitting in my living room alone.

That’s just weird.

It makes me miss college, when there was always a group of people watching tv together. I don’t think I ever saw an episode of “Friends” alone. I guess if a show is called “Friends”, that’s kind of the point, right?

I do have an observation from all the couch sitting and television viewing tonight. Volkswagen has the best commercials. If I had money, I’d totally buy a Jetta, just because they’ve sold me with the advertising. Way to go, VW.

It’s the top of the 8th inning, and the Rangers are winning. That’s a really good thing. The World Series reminds me of why I love baseball. I don’t watch regular season, because I can’t invest the time, but baseball is such a great sport. I’m impressed by the skill and self control of the players. It’s not flashy or aggressive or in-your-face like football or basketball (but I like those, too). It’s a smart sport, and fun to watch. Plus, I married a baseball player, who is also really good at explaining things, so that helps.

I’m fading fast, and my eyes hurt from all the watching. I’m probably going to dream about cops chasing baseball players who are secretly preventing crimes because of numbers generated from a machine.

I’d watch that.

 

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

So, What Comes Next? Some Thoughts on Some Things

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
October 2011
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

  • Cut my hair yesterday. Had a stress dream that I had forgotten today was my wedding and my hair was now too short. It's been a long summer. 2 weeks ago
  • Up at 5 almost every day. Practice 3 hrs/day. Eating right. This has been our summer, and it paid off. So proud of my girls and our team! 3 weeks ago
  • @CoachDavidOrr So proud of every Sunkist swimmer! We love our swim family! Thank you for a great State Meet! 3 weeks ago
  • Last night I learned that Molly swims in her sleep. She hit me in the face with a strong backstroke. She cut time- my sleep time. 3 weeks ago
  • I'm learning that social media allows us to never ask each other how we are. We assume we know. We don't. 1 month ago

