Grace

November 14, 2011 at 2:28 pm Leave a comment

Thirty-eight years ago today, God gave me a gift.

I was not born yet. My parents had just started dating.

But God is sovereign, and in His perfect all-knowing sovereignty, He was providing for me, and blessing me and so many others.

Thirty-eight years ago today, Michael was born.

I have written many posts on how grateful I am for my husband. This year, however, I’m even more aware of how God has prepared us for this time in our life together and how He has given Michael to me to be our leader and head of our family.

Michael is the best person that I’ve ever known.

He is completely selfless. He lives to give to others. He serves us without complaint. He rarely asks for anything for himself, and uses everything he has to help others. He credits all good things in his life to God.

He’s humble and kind. He genuinely talks to people and when he asks how they are doing, it’s because he really wants to know. He doesn’t consider race, social status, gender, money or anything else when he talks to people. He just sees the person for who they are, someone created and loved so much by God.

He loves the world God made, and has a passion and desire to see the nations come to know Jesus. He wants to be out there, sharing the Gospel, because it changed him so completely. He wants others to know that change. He loves talking to others about what God has done in his life.

He’s a great athlete, but not competitive. He plays to have fun and spend time with people. He’s brilliantly smart, but can explain the most difficult concepts in a way that people like me can understand. He is one of the best teachers I’ve had the privilege of listening to.

He grasps God’s Word with an understanding of one who has studied for many, many years, though his own desire to know the Word is still relatively young.

He waits patiently on God to move us where we need to be in life, with our house and other life decisions. He knows God has a perfect plan, and while there have been bumps in the road, Michael is committed to following that plan, every step of the way.

In the twenty years that we’ve been friends, he has never one time befriended someone for his own benefit. He has never done something because he was looking out for his own interests. Even before he knew Christ as Lord of his life, he treated others better than himself.

He is a loving father, and cares deeply about our kids spiritual lives. He loves to play with them, and spends a lot of his free time playing board games, video games, Barbie, Star Wars, Legos, and coloring pictures.

He is fun to be with, can talk about anything and makes me laugh. His opinion matters greatly to me. He loves me for who I am, and our marriage is the best earthly thing I’ve ever experienced.

Thirty-eight years ago, God gave me a gift. I consider it pure grace, because I could never deserve a relationship like this one. Thirty-eight years ago, God brought into the world the best person I will ever know on this earth. And he’s the best person I know because he reflects the image of the one who made him and died for him. Just typing those words makes my hands tremble at the magnitude of what God has done in my husband’s life.

Thirty-eight years ago, God was sovereign. God is still sovereign today. He knows who we are and where we are going. He has changed us and made us new creations, and we praise Him for it!

I love Michael Albritton. I loved him as my friend twenty years ago, and I will love him when I take my last breath. I am so proud to be his wife, and will spend the rest of our days together on earth striving to be to him what he is to me.

Happy Birthday, Michael. It’s your birthday, yet I get the best gift. I’m so glad you were born.

 

 

Entry filed under: Deep Thoughts, Life Stories, Marriage and Family. Tags: , , , , , .

Some Thoughts on Some Things Ups and Downs

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
November 2011
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…


