Dusting Off the Old Blog…

April 4, 2012 at 4:16 pm Leave a comment

She’s baaaack! 

So, how are ya? I’m absolutely, positively sure I am the most inconsistent blogger on the planet. It’s not a trait I’m proud of. 

I haven’t counted how many days we have until summer break, but I can tell you that there are too many. I’m sick of school. I took the kids this morning, and we live thirty minutes from their school. With traffic and rain, it took forty-five minutes to get there. Then thirty minutes to get home. If I’m going to drive for an hour and fifteen minutes, I want to be moving toward somewhere fun. But alas, I ended up back at home, where the laundry and unmade beds await. 

I’m discovering that I have a struggle, and I’m betting I’m not alone. I struggle with knowing too much about everyone I know because of Facebook and Twitter. I’m not hating, I love the connections I have, especially with those I never see. But if I overexpose myself to other people’s lives, I have a tendency to compare, to judge, to get frustrated and to basically waste time that could be spent doing good. And by “good”, I mean ANYTHING good, like playing with my kids, reading, making something, exercise, housework…things that actually improve my life and relationships. 

So I have to call on the power of the One who lives in me to give me the discipline I need to take a break. I am not strong enough to do it by myself. I like people too much, and I don’t like feeling isolated with my laundry. But if my mind is going to be healthy and focused, and if I want to be able to hear Him clearly, I have to shut down the chatter. And I don’t know what that will look like. Maybe limit myself to one Facebook visit a day, rather than checking it every time I use the computer. Or maybe a fast. Or maybe once a week. I’m not sure. 

This is going to be hard. Discipline is rarely fun. 

But this is going to be rewarding. Discipline usually is. 

So this is it…Anne: Unplugged. 

May God be glorified. 

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

The Huxtables Worth a Thousand Words

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
April 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

  • Cut my hair yesterday. Had a stress dream that I had forgotten today was my wedding and my hair was now too short. It's been a long summer. 2 weeks ago
  • Up at 5 almost every day. Practice 3 hrs/day. Eating right. This has been our summer, and it paid off. So proud of my girls and our team! 3 weeks ago
  • @CoachDavidOrr So proud of every Sunkist swimmer! We love our swim family! Thank you for a great State Meet! 3 weeks ago
  • Last night I learned that Molly swims in her sleep. She hit me in the face with a strong backstroke. She cut time- my sleep time. 3 weeks ago
  • I'm learning that social media allows us to never ask each other how we are. We assume we know. We don't. 1 month ago

