Worth a Thousand Words

April 12, 2012 at 3:57 am Leave a comment

I wrote a long, rather depressing post at the end of 2011.

In case you’re wondering (all 6 of you that might read this), 2012 has been a banner year so far. I’m talking, really great.

We’re not any richer. As a matter of fact, we’re living on less.

We’re not any healthier. We’re working on that.

We’re still in the same house, doing the same work, with the same basic lifestyle we had before.

But for some reason, it’s just been better. I don’t know if a new year was what I needed for my perspective to change, but it has. I’ve seen the power of God in so many things. I have enjoyed my family more, enjoyed my friends more, enjoyed LIFE more.

I think the fog of grief that covered most of 2010-11 is slowly clearing. My heart doesn’t feel heavy all the time. I don’t feel like I’m on the verge of tears most days.

So if anyone reads this and has wondered: Time really does heal. It’s a slow process, and I don’t understand it, but it does heal.

We’ve already made some great memories this year. I have to show you a few…

Image

By the goodness of God (and I really, truly mean that), we were able to go to Disney World for four days in February. I am still amazed that we went. It was our first vacation in three years with just us, and it was incredible. I am beyond grateful for those days of no responsibility and just magical fun.

Image

While we were at Disney, my husband coerced me into doing the American Idol experience. It was really fun, and taught me a lot about myself and my dreams. And this is not what I thought I’d be wearing on American Idol, EVER.

Image

And we met Phineas and Ferb. One of my life goals has been met.

Image

And in March, my husband had the privilege of baptizing our two oldest children, Aidan and Molly.

Image

This day could not have been more special for our family. Molly prayed to receive Christ on February 15, and Aidan on February 27. We had a picnic with family and friends after church to celebrate the new life we have in Jesus. It was a wonderful, precious day.

Image

I have two beautiful, smart, godly, amazing cousins. My cousin Courtney is on my dad’s side. She was married early in March, and I got to sing with my brother at her wedding. I don’t have picture from that day, but we had the best time, and it was such a sweet, wonderful ceremony. My other cousin, Lucy, was married at the end of March. This is a picture of her and my aunt Lisa. They were both gorgeous. I am so proud to have two young women in my life that love the Lord and serve Him and prayed for godly men to marry…and God answered their prayers in big ways! Being there to experience them beginning a new life was such an encouragement to me.

Image

Molly won an art award at her school! I was so proud of my girl and her farm, made with oil pastels.

So it’s been a banner year so far. I’ve been directing our children’s choir at church, and LOVE it. I had no idea it would be so much fun. I have a new job that I start in August, and it’s perfect for me. We’re working on a new school situation for our kids. Michael and I are going back to England in July. I had the awesome privilege of singing in church on Easter Sunday, and I have never been so afraid…or aware of God’s presence in my pitiful human effort. He was (and is) so faithful.

Life is good. Even when it isn’t.

We are able to breathe in and out. We are forgiven for being complete idiots. We are called children of God.

I love this life, and I’m thankful for it.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Dusting Off the Old Blog… Summer Fever

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
April 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

  • Listening to a 90's Country playlist. My son is bewildered by "Prop Me Up Beside the Jukebox When I Die." Me too, dude. Me too. 1 day ago
  • RT @PaulTripp: The gospel of grace frees you from fear of the future because it tells you wherever you go whatever you do, your Savior will… 4 days ago
  • RT @PaulTripp: The gospel of grace meets you with hope in the present because it guarantees you everything you need for life and godliness. 4 days ago
  • Twice today I've opened the fridge to put groceries in that go in the pantry. I'm helping Monday live up to the hype. 2 weeks ago
  • Sitting by Aidan during the new Pirates of the Caribbean movie was more fun than the movie itself. He doesn't just watch. He experiences. 3 weeks ago

