Summer Fever

April 19, 2012 at 2:44 am 1 comment

Summer cannot get here fast enough. 

I’ve always liked summer, but I’ve never felt a desperation for it to get here quickly. 

I’m desperate, y’all. 

Every day, I load Paisley in the van and drive half an hour to my kids’ school and then wait twenty minutes for school to get out, then drive half an hour back. The entire drive, we listen to the Fresh Beat Band, or The Muppets, or Phineas and Ferb. I like them all, but an hour and a half a day in a closed van is making me crazy. 

Every morning, my job is to get uniforms ready and pack lunches. I don’t eat peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. I have never really liked them, but now I know I’ll never eat one as long as I live, because I’m so sick of making them every single day. 

See? I’m getting on my own nerves just talking about the things that get on my nerves! 

I’m ready for summer. This year, all the kids will be swimming well, and I can breathe easier. We plan on swimming as much as humanly possible. When you live in Mississippi, sometimes the only way you can combat the heat is by soaking yourself. I’m not a sit on the side of the pool mom, either. I have spent the last several summers trying to make my front flip off the diving board work, and I can feel it. This is the year. 

I’m ready to have an excuse just to eat fruit for supper. I’m ready to sleep until I wake up and not wear makeup for three days in a row. 

I’m ready for evenings on my parents’ deck with kids running everywhere, laughing and hollering. 

I’m ready for Vacation Bible School. 

I’m ready for our mission trip.

I’m ready for the Olympics. 

I’m ready for that day when I look at the kids and say, “We haven’t been anywhere in a week. What should we do today?” Then we go get snow-cones. 

Come on, summer. 

Bring it. 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Worth a Thousand Words Meh-wedge….

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Karen McGee  |  April 30, 2012 at 5:32 pm

    So happy to read your last three posts! I was afraid “THE HUXTABLES” had done you in! By practicing your dive this summer, is that an indication that you may be actually in the Olympics? Just wondering…stranger things have happened!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome! Hope you enjoy the blog. I know nothing about the internet, except that I like it a lot. So there's nothing fancy on here, just thoughts and pictures. It's the simple things, right?
Glory Revealed Banner
April 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Top Clicks

  • None

Email Me

For the Birds…

  • Cut my hair yesterday. Had a stress dream that I had forgotten today was my wedding and my hair was now too short. It's been a long summer. 2 weeks ago
  • Up at 5 almost every day. Practice 3 hrs/day. Eating right. This has been our summer, and it paid off. So proud of my girls and our team! 3 weeks ago
  • @CoachDavidOrr So proud of every Sunkist swimmer! We love our swim family! Thank you for a great State Meet! 3 weeks ago
  • Last night I learned that Molly swims in her sleep. She hit me in the face with a strong backstroke. She cut time- my sleep time. 3 weeks ago
  • I'm learning that social media allows us to never ask each other how we are. We assume we know. We don't. 1 month ago

